Homeschooling and I: The Wonders of the Children’s Minds

Since a few weeks ago, my 3-months-old-today Baby Irfan and I had started a new routine with the Ipad. Schooling! Not schooling as in ‘going to school’ but ‘learning like in school’. Believe it or not, a baby as young as a newborn is already very much capable of absorbing new knowledge. In fact, this is the best time to teach them everything there is to learn. If only you know how wonderful a child’s mind is, you will be amazed!

How Do I Teach My Kids?

After not much of an experiment, I found that Irfan is very fond of this one particular application called “My First Arabic“. It is developed by Islamkids.Media Sdn Bhd under the “babykhalifah” series. I do recommend this app for parents who have Apple device. This app teaches numbers, shapes, colours and days. It is animated and colourful. I also bought My First Iqra’ and Wudhu’. Aiman also learnt from these apps since he was nearly a year old. I also downloaded a few other learning apps developed by yufid.org (Kids Dua, Hijaiya, Hisnul Muslim etc), Fisher Price (Where’s Puppy’s Nose, Shapes and Colours, Let’s Count, Animals), BlueOnionSoft (BabyApps, BabyWord).

Credit to Islamkids.my

Watch this video of Aiman learning Arabic alphabets. He was using an the app Hijaiya developed by yufid.org.

Besides using the Ipad, I actually still use the conventional way to teach Irfan; the flashcards!

I got all these cards from Aiman’s paediatrician’s clinic and from Enfamama’s newsletters. All for FREE!!! I used to show these cards to Aiman ever since he was 2 months old. At that time, I was not sure he was learning. I even felt like I was starting too early because he did not show much of a response except just staring at the pictures. But after a few months. I noticed the fruit of my efforts when he showed his interests in trains, particularly Thomas the Tank Engine. So then I learnt that it is never too early to start.

I also stimulated my children’s minds by talking to them a lot. Just show them things around them and introduce the names of things, the functions and maybe tell them a few things about it. Talk to them in simple language that they can comprehend. It will simply enhance their intelligence and promote learning. Keep them interested with things around them.

You don’t need expensive toys to boost your children’s development. Simply make use of things around you. It is God-created and it is free!

Don’t forget to sing to them too! Children learn ABCs faster if it is taught by singing. See my point? Sing to them the famous nursery rhymes whatsoever. They will love it.

Youtube is also a wonderful tool for learning. Search the keyword ‘phonics’ and you will find hundreds, if not thousands, of videos teaching ABCs, shapes, colours etc. Search ‘alif ba ta’. In short, search whatever you can find to teach the children. BUT, parental guidance is very much needed because kids nowadays are very smart they can surf the youtube without help, even if they cannot read yet. Please remember to restrict the hours your children spend on the devices and don’t let them go to sleep with it.

Aiman at ‘school’

You might want to read this too: How to Stimulate a Child’s Mind

Well, that’s all for now, I think. Irfan is already awake and I need to ‘start my school’ now. Ilalliqa’~

Leave a Reply

